Distinguished Speaker

Home / Distinguished Speaker

Sunday, September 19

Susan Garrett Baker & James A. Baker, III

The Bryan Museum has named its third annual Distinguished Speakers and honorees, Susan Garrett Baker and James A. Baker, III.

Susan Garrett Baker is a founding member and Co-Chairman of National Alliance to End Homelessness, an organization that works to prevent and end the tragedy of homelessness. She also serves on the Board of the Enterprise Foundation, Families of Homeless, Neighborhood Centers, Inc. and the Houston Food Bank.

Mr. Baker has served in senior government positions under three United States presidents. He served as the nation’s 61st secretary of state from January 1989 through August 1992 under President George H.W. Bush, served as the 67th secretary of the treasury from 1985 to 1988 under President Ronald Reagan and secretary of commerce to President Gerald Ford. Mr. Baker received the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1991 and recently published, The Man Who Ran Washington (The Life and Times of James A. Baker III).


This program is a benefit of Old 300 membership to The Bryan Museum.


Now in its third year, The Bryan Museum’s Distinguished Speaker and Award was conceived to be given to an intellect (writer, teacher, speaker, influencer) who has distinguished him or herself as an outstanding and eloquent advocate for the preservation and promotion of the history and culture of the state of Texas and the West.


  • 2019 – Stephen Harrigan
  • 2018 – William Dale (Bill) Wittliff


The Bryan Museum’s Texas Frontier Gold Medal Award pays homage to the gold medal award presented to the last surviving participant of the Battle of San Jacinto, Alphonso Steele (1817-1911) who was 92 years old when he received the medal. The medal, an exact replica of the 1909 Gold Medal Award, features an image of General Sam Houston on the front and is presented annually to individuals with roots in Texas and the American West who have distinguished themselves as exceptional and impassioned champions of our shared heritage.