About Us

Home / About Us

Our Mission

The mission of The Bryan Museum is to bring the history of Texas and the American West to life. Through its world-class collections, exhibitions, and educational history and literacy programs, students of all ages get a chance to experience the stories of yesterday and write the stories of tomorrow.

Our History

The Bryan Museum arose from humble beginnings. At age ten, J.P. Bryan acquired his first two pieces, a Moore’s Patent Front Loading Revolver and a Sharps Patent Four-Barrel Derringer. Both firearms still reside in the collection today.

In October 2013, J.P. and Mary Jon Bryan purchased the old Galveston Orphans Home in Galveston, Texas. After a careful restoration of the historic structure, The Bryan Museum opened in June 2015. With 20,000 square feet of exhibit space and lush, manicured grounds, it has become a Texas destination.

From there, the collection expanded both rapidly and eclectically. With a focus on artists who lived during the West’s Golden Age or when “the dust was still settling,” the museum’s art collection presents a unique opportunity for visitors to personally experience that period of history.

While attending the University of Texas, Bryan started a rare book and printing business with a friend. It was during this period that he began focusing his collecting on Texana. He started with rare books, in which he had a keen interest. Bryan’s uncle, Judge Lewis Wilson of Brazoria County, willed his impressive collection of Texas literature to Bryan, providing him with a strong foundation.

Board of Directors

Alicia Bryan
J. P. Bryan
Fred Burns
John Crain
Jim Lykes

Ed McMahon
Karl Rove
Jolyn Scheirman
Roland Sledge
Melissa Williams Murphy (non-voting member)

Delegados Advocate Board

Andrea and John Bryan
Susan Noe and Mike Wilson
Sara and Ken Wise
Geoff Connor
Rebecca and Joe Jaworski
June Deadrick
Dancie and Jim Ware
Diane and Peter Taafe
Susan and John Schouest
Tiffany and David Montgomery
Gail and Armin Cantini
Katlyn and Rob Clark
Angela and Craig Brown
Ed McMahon
Rome and Hanson Street
Carmen and Steve Mataro
Susannah and Jeff Brown
Mike Chryssikos

Jason Dell’Ario
Heather and Michael Lerner
Rebecca Diaz-Arrastia and Chris Lewis
Kimberly Duffy
Raul Ficachi
Annabel and Alex Florescu
Janette and Bobby Gardner
Michelle Jeffery
Alexander Kliebert
Rhonda and Eric Lipper
Max Lozmack
Kate and Jim Lykes
Arun Mani
Lindsey and Blake McCrory
Alex Miller
Melissa and Matt Murphy
Morgan and Cameron Neal

Meredith and William Padon IV
Ava Leigh Bryan and Ross Pellegrin
Diane Rogers
Mary-Bennett Sigal
Brett Smith
Chrystal Peterek

Learn more about the Delegados